Br5-49 - One Long Saturday Night (DVD)

Br5-49 - One Long Saturday Night (DVD)

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Not in Stock
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Alternative country-rockabilly pioneers BR549 at the top of their game!

Their only DVD!
All their hits and fan favorites!
Liner notes by the band's Smilin' Jay McDowell!

You wouldn't think it would be so hard selling authentic, down-and-dirty, revved-up country music in Nashville - the home of country music - but BR5 49 started off playing for tips in the bars of Lower Broadway while the music industry ignored them just a few blocks away. The industry was forced to take notice, but by then legions of fans were flocking Lower Broad to catch the scene.

This DVD recorded in Germany in 1996 catches BR5 49 at the peak of their game. It's a tribute to the strength of their original compositions that they can mix up their own songs, like Bettie Bettie and Little Ramona (Gone Hillbilly Nuts), with classics like Gone, Gone, Gone or Cherokee Boogie, and you never notice that there's a forty-year gap between them. The new songs sound like classics and the classic songs sound new!

As the band's Smilin' Jay McDowell says in his liner notes, ''We were doing the music we wanted to do the way we wanted to do it. We weren't trying to fit into any mold. We had no expectations of any record labels being interested in us. We just showed up every night and did our thing and worked on getting better. ''

This program is also available as audio only on CD with the addition of four songs!

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Von Den Blauen Bergen Kommen Wir
  • Dancing With My Shadow
  • Even If It's Wrong
  • Long Gone Lonesome Blues
  • Heartaches By The Number
  • Bettie Bettie
  • Right Or Wrong
  • Hometown Boogie
  • Honky Tonk Song
  • Go Boy Go
  • Lonesome 7-7203
  • My Name Is Mud
  • I Ain't Never
  • Little Ramona (Gone Hillbilly Nuts)
  • Big Mouth Blues
  • Cherokee Boogie
  • Ole Slewfoot
  • Crazy Arms
  • Gone, Gone, Gone
  • One Long Saturday Night
  • Take Me Back To Tulsa

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Country

Run Time: 53 mins

Release Date: 08/12/16

UPC: 5397102201400