!!!! Beat, Vol.2, Shows 6-9 (DVD)

!!!! Beat, Vol.2, Shows 6-9 (DVD)

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Not in Stock
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Another DVD-album from the Bear Family Records - R&B & Soul DVD series - The !!!! Beat -

Once THE !!! BEAT was only a legend. Fans and collectors heard that there was a television show in the mid-1960sthat captured the absolute very best of the soul and R&B singers of the day. Some said it was made in Nashville andsome said that it was made in Dallas. Musicians remembered working on the show and a few people rememberedseeing it, but no one seemed to know what had happened to it. Did the tapes still exist? How many shows were there?Who exactly was on it?

Now, nearly forty years later Bear Family answers all the questions. All the episodes still exist! It really was a fabulousshow! It really was in color! It really did feature the absolute best of the soul and R&B acts of the day! And whereas oncejust fragments of the shows made their way onto bootlegs, now the entire series is available in first-generation quality. Ithas been a long time coming, but now THE !!! BEAT is back!

Soul music is bigger than ever now, just as the original practitioners are dying off or performing way past their prime. Revivalists like Joss Stone often only emphasize how great the originals were in their day, so here is a reminder of whatREAL soul music was like from the absolute original masters. There were 26 THE !!! BEAT shows, and many of the performances were live in the studio with a backup band led bythe terrific Clarence 'Gatemouth' Brown. Here are just a few of the original soul and R&B stars captured in their prime:

Track Listing

    • Williams, Lee & C. Randle &... - SHOW #6:
    • Various - The !!!! Beat - Intro by Hoss Allen, incl. The Beat Theme
    • Various - The !!!! Beat - I Can't Turn You Loose
    • Church, Jimmy - Hide Away
    • King, Freddie - I Love The Woman
    • King, Freddie - Summertime
    • Brown, Gatemouth - Empty Arms And Bitter Tears
    • Taylor, Gerri - Try Me
    • Howard, Frank & Commanders - Uptight Out Of Sight
    • Church, Jimmy - Jamaica Farewell
    • Brown, Gatemouth - Don't You Want A Man Like Me
    • Church, Jimmy & Freddie King - SHOW #7:
    • Various - The !!!! Beat - What'd I Say
    • Lynn, Barbara - I'm Falling In Love Again
    • Kelly Bros - I Got You
    • Ferguson, Little Gary - When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again
    • Brown, Gatemouth - You'll Lose A Good Thing
    • Lynn, Barbara - I'd Rather Have You
    • Kelly Bros - Tell Me Why You Want To Hurt Me So
    • Young, Mighty Joe - fiddle instrumental
    • Brown, Gatemouth - Amen
    • Kelly Bros - SHOW #8:
    • Various - The !!!! Beat - Money
    • Lynn, Barbara - I'm Falling For You
    • Kelly Bros - I Got Soul
    • Grayson, Art - Billy's Bounce
    • Beat Boys - The Love You Save May Be Your Own
    • Tex, Joe - If Sugar Was As Sweet As You
    • Tex, Joe - You're That Great Big Feeling
    • Kelly Bros - 12th Street Rag
    • Brown, Gatemouth - It's Better To Have It
    • Lynn, Barbara - SHOW #9:
    • Various - The !!!! Beat - San: Ho: Zay
    • King, Freddie - I'm So Glad To Be In Love
    • Carnations - High Heeled Sneakers
    • Ferguson, Little Gary - Pickin' Berries
    • Jones, Johnny - There Is Love
    • Hodges, Charles - Can I Run To You
    • Hodges, Charles - I'm Tore Down
    • King, Freddie - Polk Salad And Hokie
    • Brown, Gatemouth - I Got My Mojo Workin'

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: R & B

    Run Time: 98 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127201270