Skip to product information
1 of 1

At Town Hall Party July 25 & Aug.15, 1959 (DVD)

At Town Hall Party July 25 & Aug.15, 1959 (DVD)

Regular price $7.98 USD
Regular price $15.95 USD Sale price $7.98 USD
Sale Not in Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Another DVD-album from the Bear Family Records - country DVD series - At Town Hall Party -

'Town Hall Party' was among the first of the country music shows to be seen on U. S. television, making its debut in early 1952 and running until early 1961. Staged every Saturday in a theatre in Compton, a suburb of Los Angeles, the stage was made up to look like an old barn, thus continuing the traditions of the various live shows that were first heard on the radio airwaves three decades earlier. 'Town Hall Party' was created with its own cast of regular performers and musicians, boasting a house that was virtually a 'who's who' of the West Coast scene comprising such as Joe Maphis, Merle Travis, Skeets McDonald, Johnny Bond and Tommy Duncan. Jay Stewart (who later hosted the TV quiz show 'Let's Make A Deal'), and Tex Ritter were the MCs. The weekly show presented an equally impressive guest list. Among the many guests to appear were Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, Eddie Cochran, The Collins Kids, Freddie Hart, Wanda Jackson, George Jones, Merle Lindsay, Bob Luman, Carl Perkins, Jim Reeves, Marty Robbins, Hank Snow and Gene Vincent. -- Now 'Town Hall Party' is reborn on DVD. Launched in 2002, this continuing DVD series present both individual artists' performances, compiled from different appearances on 'Town Hall Party', and complete cast shows selected from specific dates. Completely remastered, and presented with full colour booklets, these releases fully captured the atmosphere, artistry and sounds of a bygone country music age

Track Listing

    • Terry, Gordon - Introduction By Jay Stewart
    • Various - At Town Hall Party - Going Down The Road Feeling Bad
    • Bond, Johnny & Travis, Merle.. - Midnight Special
    • Travis, Merle - Wake Up Little Susie
    • Mize, Billy & Crofford, Cliff - The Wonder Of You
    • Sterling, Jeannie - I Got Stripes
    • Terry, Gordon & Mize, Billy.. - Comedy
    • Stewart, Jay & Snodgrass, Q. - Who Built The Ark
    • Carson, Martha & Town Hall... - Rocky Road Blues
    • Vincent, Gene - Pretty Pearly
    • Vincent, Gene - Be-Bop-A-Lula
    • Vincent, Gene - Guitar Instrumental
    • Pruett, Jimmy - Chantilly Lace
    • Rockin' Hawaiians - Medley
    • Rockin' Hawaiians - Oklahoma Waltz
    • Bond, Johnny - Mona Lisa
    • Mcdonald, Skeets - Oh How I Miss You
    • Maphis, Rose Lee - They Call The Wind Maria
    • O'neill, Johnny - Marianne
    • O'neill, Johnny - High School Confidential
    • Vincent, Gene - Over The Rainbow
    • Various - At Town Hall Party - Stay All Night, Stay A Little Longer
    • Terry, Gordon & Lahnahm, Roy.. - The Tennessee Stud
    • Terry, Gordon - Hard Hearted Hannah
    • Sterling, Jeannie - Georgia On My Mind
    • Pruett, Jimmy - Above And Beyond
    • Mize, Billy & Crofford, Cliff - Chime Bells
    • Jewett, Diana - Talking Blues
    • Lanham, Roy - I Am A Pilgrim
    • Carson, Martha - Ridin' Old Paint
    • Ritter, Tex - Boll Weevil
    • Ritter, Tex & Morton, Hank - Froggy Went A-Courtin'
    • Ritter, Tex & Morton, Hank - Announcement
    • Ritter, Tex - Brown's Ferry Blues
    • Lanham, Roy - Talks To Gordon Terry
    • Ritter, Tex - Jealous Heart
    • Terry, Gordon - Announcements

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 114 mins

    Release Date: 02/01/10

    UPC: 4000127200389

    View full details
    Your cart
    Product Product subtotal Quantity Price Product subtotal
    At Town Hall Party July 25 & Aug.15, 1959 (DVD)
    At Town Hall Party July 25 & Aug.15, 1959 (DVD)BVD20038
    At Town Hall Party July 25 & Aug.15, 1959 (DVD)BVD20038
    Regular price
    Sale price
    Regular price
    Sale price